University of Pittsburgh

ISP Faculty Awards

Assistant Professor Jingao Wang is selected for the Innovation in Education Awards by the Provost's Advisory Council on Instructinal Education (ACIE).  Dr. Wang will develop a new undergraduate course that focuses on designing, prototyping and evaluating mobile applications.  Pitt Chronicle article. University Times article.

ISP Director Diane Litman is honored as a Senior Member in the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI).  Senior Member status recognizes AAAI members who have achieved significant accomplishments within the field of artificial intelligence.  She is one of only 25 AAAI members recognized as Senior Member this year.

Associate Professor Milos Hauskrecht received the Homer R. Warner Award for the paper Conditional Outlier Detection for Clinical Allerting during the AMIA 2010.  Co-authored with Dr. Shyam Visweswaran (ISP and DBMI) and Dr. Gregory Cooper (ISP and DBMI), Dr. Gilles Clermont (Dept. of Critical Care), and Michal Valko and Iyad Batal (Graduate students from Computer Science Dept.).  This award is named for Homer R. Warner, MD, PhD, a pioneer in the field of informatics.  The award is presented to the paper that best describes approaches to improving computerized information acquisition, knowledge data acquisition and management, and experimental results documenting the value of these approaches.

ISP Director Diane Litman receives the Best Paper Award at the 10th International Conferences on Intelligent Tutoring Systems (ITS 2010). Co-authors, Min Chi (ISP PhD 2009 graduate), and Kurt VanLehn (former CS/ISP faculty).  Do Micro-Level Tutorial Decisions Matter:  Applying Reinforcement Learning to Induce Pedagogical Tutorial Tactics is based on Min Chi's dissertation work.




Copyright 2009–2019 | Send feedback about this site